info prev up next book cdrom email home

Mathematics Prizes

Several prizes are awarded periodically for outstanding mathematical achievement. There is no Nobel Prize in mathematics, and the most prestigious mathematical award is known as the Fields Medal. In rough order of importance, other awards are the $100,000 Wolf Prize of the Wolf Foundation of Israel, the Leroy P. Steele Prize of the American Mathematical Society, followed by the Bôcher Memorial Prize, Frank Nelson Cole Prizes in Algebra and Number Theory, and the Delbert Ray Fulkerson Prize, all presented by the American Mathematical Society.

See also Fields Medal


``AMS Funds and Prizes.''

MacTutor History of Mathematics Archives. ``The Fields Medal.'' ``Winners of the Bôcher Prize of the AMS.''
``Winners of the Frank Nelson Cole Prize of the AMS.''

MacTutor History of Mathematics Archives. ``Mathematical Societies, Medals, Prizes, and Other Honours.''

Monastyrsky, M. Modern Mathematics in the Light of the Fields Medals. Wellesley, MA: A. K. Peters, 1997.

``Wolf Prize Recipients in Mathematics.''

© 1996-9 Eric W. Weisstein