info prev up next book cdrom email home

Order (Algebraic Surface)

The order $n$ of an Algebraic Surface is the order of the Polynomial defining a surface, which can be geometrically interpreted as the maximum number of points in which a line meets the surface.

Order Surface
3 Cubic Surface
4 Quartic Surface
5 Quintic Surface
6 Sextic Surface
7 Heptic Surface
8 Octic Surface
9 Nonic Surface
10 Decic Surface

See also Algebraic Surface


Fischer, G. (Ed.). Mathematical Models from the Collections of Universities and Museums. Braunschweig, Germany: Vieweg, p. 8, 1986.

© 1996-9 Eric W. Weisstein