info prev up next book cdrom email home

Griffiths Points

``The'' Griffiths point is the fixed point in Griffiths' Theorem. Given four points on a Circle and a line through the center of the Circle, the four corresponding Griffiths points are Collinear (Tabov 1995).

The points

{\it Gr}=I+4{\it Ge}

{\it Gr'}=I-4{\it Ge},

are known as the first and second Griffiths points, where $I$ is the Incenter and Ge is the Gergonne Point.

See also Gergonne Point, Griffiths' Theorem, Incenter, Oldknow Points, Rigby Points


Oldknow, A. ``The Euler-Gergonne-Soddy Triangle of a Triangle.'' Amer. Math. Monthly 103, 319-329, 1996.

Tabov, J. ``Four Collinear Griffiths Points.'' Math. Mag. 68, 61-64, 1995.

© 1996-9 Eric W. Weisstein